Prelude to my first open water training swim

This week I am in the Adirondack Mountains, the condo/cabin that I stay in is on a lake. I have planned for my first few open water swims in that lake.

I am nervous,scared, apprehensive, and a little excited to get my wetsuit on and take the plunge.

You never know what is lurking in the depths!

You never know what is lurking in the depths!

My nephew has agreed to kayak next to me and my niece has agreed to watching us from shore, I also have a bright fluorescent green swim cap that I am going to wear. I am taking all of these precautions because I read an article that said when going on an open water swim – have someone on the shore and a bright swim cap. Check! and check!

I have also made a pact with myself, and told it to those who are going with me to the Mountains that the first day we get there, after we are unpacked and settled, I am going to get my wetsuit on and get in the water – even if it is for a few minutes. This way I can get my jitters out and swim the rest of the week.

See, my fear is that I will get there and be so scared that the last day will come and the wetsuit never have gotten wet. That would be a huge FAIL>>>> So, I don’t want that. I am going to stick to my plan and see how it goes and then let you know.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Do you have any tips for me for getting my wetsuit on and off?
Do you have suggestions for me on having a good first open water training swim?

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Recap – My first open water training swim | erintris

Leave a Reply

