Recap – My first open water training swim

4th Lake

4th Lake

My first open swim happened a few weeks ago in the Adirondack Mountains, not far from the location of the Lake Placid Ironman. In fact, I saw a few athletes that I thought were getting in their last bits of training before their event last weekend.

From my previous post, “Prelude to my first open water training swim” I was anxious and nervous to get out in the open water and get my head wet; worried that a lake monster might come up from the depths, but that never happened.

The day we arrived at our destination and got settled in, I got myself right into my wet suit and my niece and I headed to the ‘beach’ (I unfortunately don’t have photos of me swimming, because every time I got myself outside I forgot my phone, Sorry!)

The first day in the lake the water was chilly, though I had my wet suit on my face and arms, which were not covered by the wetsuit, felt the cold and upon submerging my whole body, I had to gasp for air because it was so cold. With my goggles on I looked at the bottom of the lake and found it to be friendly and soft and got to my swim.

The water was rolly and a little rough due to the boats going by and the wind and I found that I was feeling a little nauseous. I got my swim in but it was much harder than a pool swim. I think perhaps I was pushing really hard, much harder then I thought, and was feeling dizzy and just exhausted as I finished up my swim.

During my swim, my goggles fogged up bad and I had to keep stopping and clearing them.  If I didn’t clear them, I couldn’t see, and for some strange reason, that made me feel like it was harder swimming. I did see a fish and I didn’t get scared. Getting my wet suit off was a chore and I got completely wet! As I was walking out of the lake I felt this, sploosh, and a whole bunch of water came rushing down towards my legs inside my suit. I think I didn’t put it on right!  Overall I feel it was a success, I believe I need to push harder in the pool to make sure I am ready for the race, and I am no longer worried about getting out into the water.

I swam another training swim in the lake but this time did not wear my wetsuit, I didn’t feel nauseous and the swim actually felt easier. I had forgotten my watch so just did as many laps as I had completed the first day. 

4th Lake at Sunset

4th Lake at Sunset

All-in-all, first open water training swim was a success. Next one comes the end of August at the beach, I am thinking about maybe NOT using my wet suit for the Sprint Tri in September…. we will see!

Are you supposed to get wet inside your wet suit during a swim? Do you prefer open water swims to pool swims, or pool swims to open water swims?

Leave a Reply

